Jenison High School Athletics

Jenison Hall of Fame has been Cancelled for 2020. The 2020 class will be inducted in 2021.

*

*

 

2021 SPRING TRY-OUTS/1st Day schedule

*** Make sure ALL Final Forms paperwork has been completed and

PHYSICAL or WAIVER turned in prior ***

BASEBALL

F/JV/V –        Tryouts: Monday, March 22nd: :  7:00pm – 9:00pm in Kamstra/Pals gyms

                        Athletic Jenison clothing, tennis shoes, baseball equipment,   hat & gloves

                        F Coach:     Alex Krombeen   ajkrombeen@gmail.com

                        JV Coach:   Al Smith   alexandersmith@jpsonline.org

                        V Coach:    Chris TerVree    ctervree@jpsonline.org

LACROSSE

Boys -             Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd @ 3:30pm – 6:30pm @ field outside the football stadium

JV/Varsity     Dress for outside & bring required appropriate equipment

(helmet, gloves, shoulder & elbow pads, mouth guard & stick)

Player evaluations on March 22nd & 23rd to determine JV & Varsity

                                    V Coach:   Steve Strelecki   sbstrelecki@gmail.com   616-617-9946

                                                

Girls -                        Anyone interested in girls Lacrosse please sign up at   jenisonlacrosse.org

                                    Coach:  Tess Copes   copes.tess@outlook.com

 

GOLF (boys)

JV/ Varsity – Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd @ 3:00 – 4:30pm

                        Pending weather @ The Meadows Golf Course/GVSU or if indoors @ HS Balcony

                        JV Coach:   Eric Ruff   emr002@aquinas.edu

                                    V Coach:    Aaron Boersma    aboersma@jpsonline.org

                                                          

SOCCER (girls)

 JV/Varsity – Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd

                        Soccer Stadium (outside) 3:30 – 5:30pm 

                        Listen for announcements – Weather Dependent

                                    Must be registered in Final Forms & physical on file. 

Be prepared for either indoor or outdoor tryouts- listen to announcements          -

                                    Contact Mr. Zuber for specific tryout information – room 303 – or email

                        JV Coach:  Alisia VanTine     alisia.vantine@gmail.com

                        V Coach:   Phil Zuber    Room 303    pzuber@jpsonline.org                      

SOFTBALL

F/JV/Varsity Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd

                        6:00pm – 8:30pm @ Elite Baseball & Softball complex (5930 Clyde Park Ave. SW, Wyoming)

                        Workout clothes/gym shoes & softball equipment

                        F Coach:    Madison Krol, Room 214,  mdieleman@jpsonline.org

                        JV Coach:  Kelly Cole, Room 401,    kcole@jpsonline.org 

                        V Coach:    Michelle Brander    mbranderelite@gmail.com

      

TENNIS (girls)

JV/Varsity –  Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd  5am-7am Premier Tennis Club @ Ramblewood, GVL

                        JV Coach:   Karlee Brower    kbrower99@gmail.com

                        V Coach:     Scott Gregory      scottrgregory84@gmail.com         

                                     

TRACK

Boys –            Practice:  Monday, March 22nd – meet in Mr. Diekever’s room 315 @ 3:00pm

                        Bring both indoor and outdoor workout clothes (SWEATSHIRT & SWEATPANTS)

                        Head Coach:   Sam Diekevers   sdiekevers@jpsonline.org

                        Sprinters/Sprint Relays:  Coach Rob Zeitman   rzeitman@gmail.com

Pole Vault/Long & High Jump: Susan Leonard   leonarsu@gvsu.edu

                        Distance:  Coach Jacci Storey  jaccistorey@gmail.com

                        Throwers:  Coach Mike VanderBeek   mvanderb@jpsonline.org 

                           

Girls –            1st Day of Practice: Monday, March 22nd   3:15 – 5:30pm  Meet in Room 406 (Mr. Kopec)

                        Be prepared to practice outside (indoors if necessary)

Bring: RUNNING shoes, snack (before & after practice) & water bottle

                        Head Coach:  Kelly Tavis   ktavis@jpsonline.org 

                        Asst. Coach:  Isaac Kopec  ikopec@jpsonline.org  Room 406

 

 

 

WATERPOLO

Girls -            Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd  @ Pool – 7:00pm – 9:00pm (check pool calendar to confirm)         

  JV/Varsity    Bring suit, cap, and goggles

                        Pool Office:  616-667-3571    www.jenisonaquatics.org

                         V Coach:   Nicole Vos       nvos@jpsonline.org

                         JV Coach:  Natalie Wolters      nwolter20@gmail.com

 

WATERPOLO

Boys -                         Tryouts:  Monday, March 22nd  @ Pool –  

JV/Varsity      Bring suit, cap, and goggles 

                        Pool Office:  616-667-3571    www.jenisonaquatics.org

                         V Coach:   Spencer Sanders   sjysanders@gmail.com

                         JV Coach:  Greg DeWitt     greghapdew@gmail.com

Academic Eligibility Policy For Incoming 9th Graders (effective 19-20 school year)

Each student-athlete, including club sports, must meet the school athletic Grade Point Average (GPA) requirement.  For the 4th 9 week marking period a minimum GPA of 2.0 is required for unlimited competition.  Student-athletes that fall below a 2.0 GPA in the 4th marking period may use their semester GPA instead.

 

For eligibility to reinstated a student athlete must:

1.  Meet with the Athletic Director to develop a personal eligibility plan.

2.  Meet the requirements stated in the personal eligibility plan.

3.  Maintain the requirements stated in the personal eligibility plan for the duration of the sport season.